2021 photos

Looking at Nan’s New Years Eve post of the 50 best photos of 2021 I thought I’d  do a small gallery on my own personal favs from the previous year. None are a patch on what’s on the 50 best on Nan’s blog, but these are a few I liked and a reminder of the constant passage of time.

Ella’s first ‘cuddle’ shortly after arriving from our 1200km round trip to Durban.

The addition of Ella and Baxter, our two adopted boxers was probably the event of ’21 and like all members of the family it’s now difficult to imagine life without them.

Like the dogs, Benji was another adoptee. Hand reared from a  few weeks old he is now cock-of-the-rock among the other felines.

Snooze Pals. Cindy and Mane.

 

Butterflies are very much part of  my garden photography.

Twin Dotted Border.

Painted Lady

Garden Commodore

Red Tip.

Amegilla Bee visits some Plectranthus.

Fruit Fly

Blue Emperor.

And a few cakes …

 

 

 

Two Orb Weavers.

And some birds ….

White Breasted Sunbird

Egyptian Goose

 

Azure/Amethyst Sunbird. Male and Female

Red Throated Wryneck

Pair of Pied Crows …. ”Comin’ at yer!”

 

After the rain. Across the Valley.

And finally …

Ark.


17 thoughts on “2021 photos

    1. Not as prolific as I’d hoped, but there were so many other no-so-fun distractions as we all know!
      All the best for 2022, Beverly.

      Like

  1. With the exception of -one- pic (!), I really enjoyed the panorama of your 2021. Methinks you have a little section of the fabled “heaven” where you live. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One pic? It was the Goose wasn’t it? Come on, own up, you just have a ‘thing’ for them, am I right?

      Yes, a little slice of heaven it is, and this year, with the clearing of the lower part of the property and a new season of veggie planting on the horizon, I’m hoping it will become even more so.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Brian.
      I’m ever watchful for a new species or three. Especially during the The Caper White emigration. Not spotted any newbies this time round and in truth, not sure if the garden could support any more, but you never know?

      The Whites are still flowing through the garden, though today it is chucking it down so all butterfly flights are cancelled for the time being..

      All the best to you and the missus for 2022.
      Hope you get to see your Lemming sooner rather than later.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your butterflies are outstanding photographs … then there is the Wryneck … fun to see the others and I love the last one.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Anne. The Hillbrow Tower has become my sort of signature shot. Sadly, as I mentioned to Prof Taboo, there are street light cables strung across my direct line of sight so I won’t be taking too many more shots.

      Like

  3. Well, after your blog-post took some 15-mins to load all the high-rez photos 😉—worthy of course for National Geographic, World, and Life magazines—I was asking myself, “Self, is Arkesatan gonna do it? Will he? Can he resist putting up the phallic Hillbrow Tower?” And…

    BOING! sha-WOAHZA! There it is. It almost took out my eye!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Photos of the Tower will be few and far between from now on as the municipality has now strung cables directly across the best line of sight, ostensibly to prevent cable theft. Ah, just one the ‘joys’ of Africa!
      Sounds like your internet speed is slower than certain Arsenal and Liverpool players of late?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment