Riding Shotgun. Out and About a Gloomy Jo’burg.

When a cake order requires fresh flowers unless we fancy a large detour the drive to the flower market means we take the highway that passes through the less salubrious parts  of the city and environs, much of which comprises old run down factories and other semi-industrial features.

Nevertheless, it does provide a couple of interesting photo opportunities, even on such a grey day.

Taxis at a garage in the suburb of Yeoville.

Through the car window: Gloomy Johannesburg Skyline.

Nelson: ”Put ’em up!”

Grey Day

Fruit and Veg destined for?

Interesting ‘Head’ gear.

Some colour at last! Face on a Wall.

 

Clean Street?

Ark.


15 thoughts on “Riding Shotgun. Out and About a Gloomy Jo’burg.

  1. Interesting pictures, they do load up those utes, they would be pulled up for unsafe loads in Aus.

    Like

    1. We have a third world /first world mix down here.
      I am not sure of the overloading laws but based on history and current evidence I suspect the driver might raise a momentary eyebrow if he had his kids strapped to the roof of his cab.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wonder how many people would recognise a mine headgear on sight?
    If Isipingo Street leads to where it signifies, the best thing to do is keep going until one gets there.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have good reason to know: my maternal grandfather, a Rand Pioneer, had his double-storey home (or mansion, rather), ‘Fairlight’, in Yeoville in the good old days. Wish I could trace a picture of it I know I have seen lately.

        Pretty good, thanks; went for my first swim for some time today.

        Like

Leave a comment