Wildlife photographer of the year competition.

In the world of wildlife photography this competition is somewhat akin to the Oscars.  There were more than 48,000 entries. Because of the hype surrounding the competition and the risk of someone spilling the beans, as it were, I only found out yesterday that my brother, Gerry was one of the finalists, and tonight at the awards ceremony in London he won 1st prize in the category,

Behaviour: Birds category winner with his image The incubator bird.

The Incubator bird is one of the few species of birds that builds a mound rather than a traditional nest and from what I can gather this is the first time  this behaviour has been so extensively photographed.

Gerry spent four months at the mound  following the trials of the parent while it waited until its chicks hatched.

 

What can I say. Well done Bro. Love you.

Ark

 

32 thoughts on “Wildlife photographer of the year competition.

        1. The rhino shot and what is behind it tore me up. I just can’t watch stuff like this anymore.
          One of the reasons I have this very dark spot inside for the Chinese and some of their eastern friends.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yeah, saw that.

            I’m registered with a lot of animal welfare groups and petition sites for animals. Every morning I get emails that are just heartbreaking. Our capacity for shitty behaviour seems boundless.

            Like

            1. I have lost confidence in much of humanity and in a country like ours where the government will kiss the feet of the Chinese and then allow themselves to get shafted while they are bent over.
              I fear it is a hopeless situation now and extinction for many for these animals is likely an inevitability.

              Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m proud as punch. It was all very cloak and dagger and this was why I knew nothing until last night.
      Gerry had heard the ceremony was going to be streamed live but didn’t know all the details. Ems found the feed and then I phoned the family overseas. My mother was over the moon!

      Like

  1. A great photo, given the back claw was in motion at the time.

    A friend of mine told me the story that her mother had a Bush Turkey build a mound and attract a mate in the backyard of her Brisbane home.

    Coming from the Southern part of Australia I had never seen a Bush Turkey until I ventured to Northern NSW on a holiday with my mother and brother. My mother called out that there was a weird bird wanting to eat our lunch. We asked her what type of bird, she said we did not know, but it was ugly and very insistent. We then ran over and saw our first Bush Turkey.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice one!

    I have a cousin who does wildlife photography in Zambia and one of his photo’s featured a few years back, not as a winner but as a highly commended.

    It’s a great chest busting feeling when a family members gets recognition like that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

