Lemon Tree Very Pretty …

… and the lemon flower is sweet

But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.

Wrong!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am not one for recipes and what not, but with the wonderful lemon bounty we’ve had this year and seeing as there are only a  realistic number of whiskey sours I can drink,  Tish suggested why not preserve some lemons?

I’d never had a go at anything like this before but she assured me it was dead easy so I took her up on it.

She also mentioned this could become addictive.

Let me tell you straight …. she’s right!  This is seriously delicious

Preserved Lemons from Yotam Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem cookbook

Ingredients

6 lemons, scrubbed
6 tablespoons coarse sea salt
2 sprigs fresh rosemary
2-4 dried red chilies
juice of 6 lemons
olive oil

Preparation

  1. Sterilize a quart jar.
  2. Cut a deep cross in the lemons all the way from the top to 3/4” from the bottom, so you are left with four quarters attached at stalk end.
  3. Stuff each lemon with a tablespoonful of salt and place in the jar. It should be a tight fit. Don’t be afraid to squeeze them.
  4. Seal the jar and leave for a week in the fridge.
  5. After a week, use a wooden spoon to squeeze out as much juice as possible.
  6. Add the rosemary, chillies and top up the jar with freshly squeezed lemon juice.
  7. Cover with a thin layer of olive oil.
  8. Seal the jar. Leave in fridge for at least four weeks.

 

Except for the salt, olive oil and the Jam Jar, the rest comes from our garden. What a bonus!

Ark

38 thoughts on “Lemon Tree Very Pretty …

    1. We have five trees … all grown from seed and one sour orange tree which we originally thought was just a weird strain of lemon.
      It is super to be able to walk up the garden path and pick one’s own fruit.
      And these days lemons are not cheap!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. When I was a kid, I’d take a salt shaker into the backyard after school and eat lemons off our trees. I love ’em! A word of caution, however. The concentration of citric acid in lemons will soften your tooth enamel. Always rinse your mouth with fresh water after eating them, and never brush your teeth immediately after eating lemons – doing so will erode your teeth near the gum-line.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. At our new home, we’re thinking of putting in some dwarf fruit trees. Right now the garden is producing some giant size zucchini (which I don’t care for but the other half eagerly devours). We also have some strawberries, but they’re few and far between for lack of water and TLC (long story that I’ll share in a post once we get more settled). Also have some blueberries, but they too are rather meager. Looking forward to a more bountiful harvest in future years.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. That sounds marvelous.
      Put stuff like this on the right footing now … or now-ish and it will pay dividends like you won’t believe. But you know this I’m sure.
      I so wish I had done more foody things when we first moved here…. and the years pass in the blink of an eye.

      Nice to hear your move was successful, Nan.
      It can be quite trying.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Successful, yes. Trying … YES!!! Still unpacking and probably will be for several weeks. But at least I have my computer set up, ❤ although I can't spend much time on it. I'm waaaaaay behind on blog reading!!

        Liked by 2 people

        1. From my experience, one thing about keeping stuff in boxes for a while after a move is that you find out how much of that stuff you really do not need as much as you might have thought.

          Liked by 1 person

      1. In my younger days, I baked many a zucchini loaf (along with many other tasty goodies). Today however, I’m adverse to spending much time in the kitchen. Perhaps it came from living alone after my first divorce. In any case, as often as possible, I turn over the cooking duties to my other half … although occasionally he goes on strike and I’m forced to rattle the pots and pans. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

          1. I grew a lot of catnip in West Palm Beach. I took a 12 inch plastic pot. I then got an orchid basket the same size as the top of the pot. Drill 3 holes in the top of the pot lip. Then after planting the catnip, place the basket over the top and use plastic wire fastener strips to attach the basket to the top of the pot. This lets the catnip grow and the cats can’t harm it until it grows past the basket openings. Once it grows that far they can chew off the ends and it won’t hurt the plant. In fact it helps it because it grows new shoots. For the in door cats I would cut off a few shoots, strip the leaves , and place them in a sock. Tie off the sock and you have a catnip toy for them with fresh catnip. Hope this helps. Hugs

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Ark it is great that no matter how tart it can get , you never seem to sour on life! Sometimes when things seem to drive you up a tree, just sit back with a lemonaid. Well Saints preserve us. 🙂 Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome and deserving of all mentions.

      It was my wife who grew the trees and nurtured them until they were ready to transplant. She is very clever like that.
      I’ve had a couple of goes but nothing has come of it. I am excellent with weeds and not too bad with gazanias and chilis!

      Anyway, five lemon trees are enough for one household/ garden I reckon!

      And credit where credit is due, I say.

      Or in the case of Mr Ottolenghi, whose fine recipe this is …. credit where credit is Jew, perhaps?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ark, re “as there are only a realistic number of whiskey sours I can drink” This is because you are drinking whiskey sours. If you switch to tequila sours, that limitation is lifted, well, if you don’t mind waking up face down in the driveway, anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

