Feathers on Friday

This is not a good shot, but it is an interesting capture.

Three Green Woodhoopoes were  flying over the garden this morning when one turned abruptly to its right and alighted in my neighbour’s tree, while its two companions carried on straight to the Wattle tree in the back garden.

I had the camera and turned to photograph the one in my neighbour’s tree as it was closer. As I focused I saw something in its beak and once I had zoomed in I realised why he’d suddenly veered off right: To catch this bug in mid-air.

My second Feathers on Friday photograph was much easier to shoot.

16 thoughts on “Feathers on Friday

  1. I love how in the first photo the bird mostly blends in with the tree. So your attention is on these two reddish tongs with a bug in them. Then as you look the outline of the bird becomes more distinct from the tree.

    On the second photo how did you get it still when you have cats around. the lazy one that lives at our home moves only when a cat is near, which seems to drive both of them into a frenzy. 🙂 Hugs

    Like

                1. I just looked the Hoopoe up online! Just beautiful! I am determined to get a great shot of the large blue herons that spend their time in our pond. Or, I need a stronger lense!!

                  Like

                2. My first shots of the grey heron that visits us were taken with the standard 55mm kit lens that comes with the Canon Rebel 400D.
                  I then simply cropped and enlarged in Paint.
                  I’m no good at other super fancy techniques.
                  I also have a Sony Cyber shot with an awesome electronic 64x lens.
                  But there is a shutter speed lag on auto. Or that’s what ot feels like. It is not like an SLR that’s for sure.
                  It is ideal for photographing subjects that don’t move too much – such as a house, or a parked car or a sleeping dog, An awesome for super distance shots. But birds etc you take pot luck as to what image you end up with, and it is usually not the one you were focusing on!

                  A 300 mm lens would probably be ideal.
                  I have a 250 mm Tokina which I used with my old Olympus OM10.
                  But who can afford film and developing these days?
                  When I asked my brother about tele lenses he recommended getting a second hand one first, as many pro photographers are often upgrading their gear.

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

