Adult required – Unaccompanied Mynahs

They are loud, brash, and highly territorial, especially during breeding season. I have seen them dive bomb our cats on the lawn when they have chicks in the nest.

They have been blamed for usurping less aggressive indigenous species. The Pied Wagtail for example. I have not seen one at our spot in several years. But if anyone is to blame for their introduction outside their native India it is, of course, us humans. We do so love to meddle.

But for all their misgivings I find them fascinating and I’m quite taken by them. They generally mate for life and are usually seen in pairs, hopping around suburban gardens. And it is this penchant for hopping that sometimes has disastrous consequences.

On a morning jog a few years ago a Mynah had been killed by a car quite close to the kerb. It was obvious this had  happened within the last few minutes as its mate continued to hop around it while crossing the road back and forth several times, squawking horribly, while cars whizzed up and  down the road. Believe me, it was most distressing, and another reason I freak out when I see drivers speeding unnecessarily around the suburb.I mean, seriously, what is the bloody point of  racing  like a maniac?

Anyway, I stopped jogging in the hope I could get it to fly off, and shooed at it a couple of times when I thought a car was coming too fast. Eventually, it realised its mate was not going to get up and with more horrible screeching if flew off.

We have a pair that nest in one of the old chimneys every year.

Ark

 

6 thoughts on “Adult required – Unaccompanied Mynahs

  1. I have had neighbours like that. 🙂 Seriously we have a type of bird here in Florida that is the same way. They nest in our big ficus tree each year and they only seem to be a problem for a short while. The bad part is other creatures like snakes know they have a nest there and go after the eggs and young. As the birds are not a threatened species I do not interfere for either side. We have a lot of birds around our place and if not for the early morning wake up calls I would say they are great. They sure keep the cats attentive and entertained as they race from window to window to look out at them. Be well. Hugs

    Like

  2. I’d have been tempted (between cars, dog I may be but I ain’t dum’) to pick up deceased bird and with due reverence carry it to somewhere the mate could fret and mourn without risk of being helped into the next world. If possible. Driving into Winton here is to take your life in your hands, the full gamut from hoons (young louts) to well-meaning little old dragons cruising at zug miles per hour (but you just try trying to pass) … better to remain a mynah, methinks.

    Love that headline …

    Like

Leave a Reply

