All the Time in the World – for Paula.

In the absence of a Black & White Sunday from Paula, who’s skiving off somewhere, without so much as a By Your Leave? I decided to do one anyway.  🙂

 

I have just finished reading Terry Pratchett’s Johnny and the Bomb – again – which sees 12 year old Johnny Maxwell travel back in time with a small group of friends to 1941 (during World War II for those who may not be aware), where he hopes to save the residents of Paradise Street, a small cul-de-sac in his home town of Blackberry.

The street  is accidentally destroyed during a German air-raid that had been intended for an industrial complex in the nearby town of Slate.

Of relevance to this post is one of the central characters of the story, a bag lady named Mrs Tachyon, who moves through the story pushing a supermarket trolley loaded with black plastic bin bags. Ostensibly the bags hold all the stuff she picks up.  Although it is speculated by one of the children that the bags might just contain something else

‘‘Y’know, my brother said Mrs Tachyon killed her husband years ago and then went mental and they never found his body,’’ said Bigmac.

They looked at the bags

‘‘None of them is big enough for a dead body,’’ said Yo-less, who wasn’t allowed to watch horror movies.

“Not a whole one, no,’’ said Bigmac.

It is a hilarious book and also contains some very pointed life observations, a hallmark of Terry Pratchett’s writing. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

At the end of the book, there is an About the Author page. It is quite poignant as the copy I own says: Terry Pratchett is … etc.

The same page on his last book to be published the About the Author page says: Terry Pratchett was. 

I wonder if Terry would have cherished a real life encounter with Mrs Tachyon? One can only speculate how things might have turned out if he had.

Ark.

Shot taken from the car as we whizzed through our own time.

Bags of Time …

Ark.

 

 

14 thoughts on “All the Time in the World – for Paula.

  1. Grand! Thank you for the reminder. You once suggest I read Terry Pratchett. I downloaded a few samples of his work onto my IPad. I liked the books samples and made myself a note to buy the books. For some reason I forgot to do it. Now I am reminded and will fix that. He wrote a lot of books, covering a lot of subjects. Which book do you recommend starting with? I see he has a series going on Magic with the character Rinewind. Is that where you would start? When you give me your suggestion I will get that one and go from there. Hugs

    Like

    1. As Pratchett said himself: BY and large, most Discworld books have stood by themselves, as complete books. It helps to have read them in some kind of order but it is not essential.”

      My personal favorites include, The Truth, Going Postal, Making Money, Witches Abroad, A Hat Full of Sky, & Night Watch.

      It might be best if you at least read the first novel in the series, The Colour of Magic and take it from there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I found the movie of it on YouTube. I am watching it as I do my online stuff, blogging and emails. I will get the book on payday. I find the whole idea of discworld grand. The humor is wonderful. Hugs

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I find the more developed characters further along in the bus a bit better than the rangefinder. Granny Weatherwax is one of my favourites, and having done time in Scotland I really appreciate ‘The Wee Free Men’ (sadly many of the nuances may be lost of folks who don’t know the Scots).

        Don’t judge a book by its cover—I was put off reading them for years by the artwork. It was only when a friend insisted I persisted that I did, and never looked back.

        Oddly, I don’t think I have yet finished ‘The Last Hero’ … Spouse bought it for me, large hard-cover version. Must fish it out and add it to the pile … sigh …

        Liked by 2 people

    2. Scottie:

      He wrote oodles and often, don’t judge the sweep of his works by any one book. If I’d read “Johnny and the Bomb” first I may never have gotten into the Discworld series, where one of my many absolute all-time very favourite characters is Death (yeah … him …).

      Spouse and I prefer the movie (kids movie—so?) to the book of J & the B, we watch it several times a year. So~?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I must dig it out, never having seen it.
        I haven’t been that impressed with the movie versions of his work t’be honest.
        I probably have an over active imagination and seeing how film studios utilise their own imagination when it comes to reproducing fantasy characters is not always my cup of tea.

        Everyone who enjoys Pratchett enjoys it in their own way …. which is how it should be, of course, and is a mark of the author’s talent, skill, je ne sais what? that so many do enjoy his writing.
        I should be so lucky to enjoy a fraction of his appeal!
        The first one of his I read was The Fifth Elephant; again after considerable nagging from my children.
        I felt a twinge of sadness and annoyance over a couple of his final books as it was obvious THE Terry Pratchett was essentially missing.
        But they are part of my collection and when I pop my clogs I hope someone enjoys them all as much as I have.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I find the photo deeply moving. Your eye focused on a struggling human being, forcing viewers to look at what is an unavoidable reality, when we prefer not to see what is uncomfortable and look away.
    IMO, the black and white gives the story a larger dimension than in color.
    Superb.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Emmy. I am humbled by your comment.

      The gap between haves and have-nots never seems to narrow enough and sometimes it widens to a yawning chasm.

      I have no idea of the history behind this shot; specifically the chap in the photo. He might simply be taking bags of garden rubbish to the local dump, ( which is not that far from where this shot was taken) or he could be carrying his entire life in a few bin-bags, much like Mrs Tachyon from the book.

      As the saying goes:
      ”How the other half lives”

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I imagine Terry actually meeting Mrs Tachyon … puts me in mind of a Giles cartoon from long ago set in a London pub: at the bar, Granny sitting with a pint and just settling next to her at the bar one Alf Garnet.
    From memory the caption was along the lines of one of the Giles family kids nudging another with (aside) words to the effect “This is gonna be interesting” …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

