Watch the birdy. Sunbird.

Male White-Bellied Sunbird.

As the light  began to fade,  I was having a coffee on the stoep when I heard him chirping away to my right.

I went inside and fetched the Sony cyber shot. I knew he would pay a visit to the Aloes before he turned in for the evening so activated the zoom and focused in that general area. For a shot like this using the zoom I am finding it almost impossible to have enough time to focus, and more so for a bird like this, and it’s a small wonder I managed a shot at all. From reading camera reviews this is a common gripe. But I reckon I still need a lot more practice. 🙂

However, even with his back to us, isn’t he gorgeous?

Ark.

9 thoughts on “Watch the birdy. Sunbird.

  1. Well done, You~!

    I imagine that the trouble is stabilisation versus zoom power? It took me a while to work out how to use the ol’ Canon on full stabilised zoom—it seems to insert a time-lagged rolling motion, but if so, keep at it and practise will help heaps (in the meantime you’ll get lots of lovely shots of beaks, or feet, or worse …)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Sony just takes ”an age” to come into focus. The Canon EOS I have focuses chop-chop – the difference between an DSLR and an electronic zoom, I guess

      But I shall persevere until I can get hold of a decent telephoto for the Canon.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jo.
      Once I get the hang of this camera I hope I’ll take better shots.

      Looks like it will be a smashing weekend down her in Johannesburg.
      Lots of sunshine but not too hot.
      Hope you have a supper weekend as well.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They arrive with the autumn and the flowering of the Aloes, which they love. I will attempt to get a few decent shots this year now that I have the Sony Cyber shot available. It has a decent zoom but needs a steady hand to focus!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They are gorgeous!
      I’ll get better shots once I get the hang of this electronic zoom on the Sony.
      But the effect is still quite nice even with the slight blur.
      They move incredibly fast, believe me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

