Slipping gently out of focus.

Over at Macromoments, Susan’s theme for the current challenge is bokeh which is …

In photography, bokeh (originally /ˈboʊkɛ/, /ˈboʊkeɪ/ BOH-kay — also sometimes pronounced as /ˈboʊkə/ BOH-kə, Japanese: [boke]) is the aesthetic quality of the blur produced in the out-of-focus parts of an image produced by a lens. Bokeh has been defined as “the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light”.

Which is loads of fun to play around with, and there’s a million and one subjects. Like this, for example.

Slightly unconventional, but effective nonetheless.

Honey bee on Ribbon Bush.

Canon Eos 400D. f5,  1/200sec. no flash.

I cropped it in Paint, then adjusted the contrast and brightness in Office.

Macro Moments # 36

 

 

8 thoughts on “Slipping gently out of focus.

    1. The idea of this composition was to have as much of the photograph as possible as bokah.
      While bokah images usually feature specific parts in focus, there are many that have the entire image blurred – I discovered there are even wallpapers of this specific effect one can download – and it was this effect I was aiming for. 🙂
      The bee was never actually intended to be in focus.

      I’ll post something else with the other bokah option, having a specific point of sharp focus with a soft background, a bit later.

      Ark.

      Like

      1. It is your decision, as the artist, whether or not to have a clear focal point. Whatever looks and feels right to you is how it should be! I just found myself having a difficult time figuring out where I should be directing my attention.

        Like

  1. I achieved a masterpiece of bokeh decades ago (before there was any bokeh, so there~!) but have long since lost the shot. Black and white, girlfriend’s cat on the back lawn. Cat was wondrously in focus but surrounded fore and aft by out-of-focus daisies.

    It was in the pre-bokeh days and before I knew any of the terms; I just described it as “Cat in a spotlight of focus”. (Damn, I wish I could find that snap …)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

