Black and White Sunday : Traces of the past.

A wall-mounted Grandmother Clock … at my Grandmother’s.

My grandmother, Violet Varney, lived  in a cul-de-sac on the edge of a heath at 25, Stake Piece Road, Royston, Hertfordshire, almost her entire adult life.  Towards the end, she was unable to ”Get about” and had to see out the remaining year or so in a nursing home, much to her annoyance! She was a feisty woman, I can assure you!

She was 99 when she died and missed out on a telegram from the Queen by 2 months.

 

 

 

These were taken in 1978. The last time I was able to go for a visit was in 1987,

Ark.

Paula @ B&W Sunday. Traces of the Past.

15 thoughts on “Black and White Sunday : Traces of the past.

  1. It’s a long time since you went there. Was it a maternal or paternal grandmother (not that it matters much)? Your intro made me put the address into Google maps – the house looks pretty modern. I wonder who lives there now, and most importantly who got the clock. It’s a shame that she did not live up to receive the Queen’s telegram. It is a noteworthy tradition. Ark, thank you for your support (of my challenges) and your endavour. It is all greatly appreciated. It’s a joy to meet a person like you. Enjoy your dinner together with the Boss 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maternal. Mum’s mum. My dad’s mother passed away when we were small. I was seven.
      Gran’s house was a council house,the end one of a row of three
      I am not sure if it has undergone any sort of renovation?
      The clock and most of gran’s ”stuff” went to auction, I understand and my mum and her boroither, the only surviving direct family had little say in the matter.
      It was said that Gran had organised it before entering the nursing home and maybe she was suffering dementia?
      I don’t know all the details.
      A bit sad, as I would have liked some of her things; not for their value but just for the memories they invoked.
      The clock for one. And there a little weather house that sat on a kitchen shelf I would have treasured.
      She baked the most amazing Victoria sponge!
      When we were kids we lived 30 miles away and would visit once or twice a month.
      She would sometimes take us for long walks across the heath to the ”Fairy Wood” and tell us stories while holding our hands tightly as we entered the demesne of the fairies!

      Such is life…. we move on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Even though you couldn’t go see her in person I get the feeling you kept in touch by phone? Did she rail against the rules in the nursing home, or the people? What were her favorite saying? Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, not that much. I left in ’79 and most of my memories were forged as a small child, like most people I presume.

      No, she didn’t rail against the nursing home, for she realised she could not cope on her own any longer, and needed professional nursing care.

      I don’t recall if she had any favorite saying, Scottie to be honest.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Aww 🙂 🙂 Just before our recent visit to the Algarve I was dubbed official photographer (much to my horror!) at the 100th birthday party of the mum of one of my walking friends. A livelier old soul you never saw, flourishing her telegram!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We were talking about THE telegram over lunch yesterday and after realising Prince Phillip is now 95, my daughter pipes up with a mischievous smile: ”When he gets to 100 will his wife send him a telegram, do you think?”

      Like

Leave a Reply

