Leading you up the garden path: Sorry to bug you …

When I was taking photos of the fuchsias I saw a web, but could not spot the spider. Then I noticed a single strand leading to a thin sliver of old bark from the wild cherry tree. Carefully I turned it over and this is what it revealed.

A small spider approx 2cm known as a Hairy Field Spider.

Few and far between are sightings of this beauty at our spot, not least because they are experts of camouflage.

This is the Robber Fly – Synolcus dubius, Check out those eyes!

First time I spotted this chap a couple of years ago I thought it was some sort of weird Dragonfly.

These insects hunt on the wing. They are super fast and if you see one land and then blink … unless they are feeding, as the one in my photo is,  they are gone!

The Asilidae are the robber fly family, also called assassin flies. They are powerfully built, bristly flies with a short, stout proboscis enclosing the sharp, sucking hypopharynx.[1][2] The name “robber flies” reflects their notoriously aggressive predatory habits; they feed mainly or exclusively on other insects and as a rule they wait in ambush and catch their prey in flight.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asilidae

The Migrant Hover Fly. I love this little guy and he can be seen on warm days buzzing around all sorts of flowers.

He can hover almost motionless but I have yet to get a decent ”in flight” shot. I say ‘He’ as the female has yellow markings that more resemble commas that tend to turn up in the centre of the back. I have other older pics but I’m too tired to wade through all the folders.You can judge for yourself …  http://www.naturespot.org.uk/species/migrant-hoverfly

Almost a whoops moment!

 

 

Ark.

4 thoughts on “Leading you up the garden path: Sorry to bug you …

  1. That Hairy Field Spider is uncanny and super stealth. I could have believed it was invisible and slowly came into view. That is how the spider came into my vision. I saw the round lighter brown body and then slowly the other parts came together. Weird, amazing , but weird.

    I was struck by how clear you pictures show that when we think something is already small, there can be smaller things still. I am thinking of the great shot you took of the Robber Fly. The prey it has is tiny compared to the fly , yet I think the fly is already so very tiny. Grand photos Ark. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

