Flower of the day: By any other name

Ark

15 thoughts on “Flower of the day: By any other name

  1. It is a great sadness to me to purchase roses today which have no scent whatsoever. I remember my mother’s roses and the perfume that accompanied them was quite potent. (Too potent for my young nose in many cases). The same thing has happened to freesias in the Spring. They have no scent and I remember their scent being the embodiment of Spring. Have we overemphasized the visual?

    Like

    1. We have several in the garden.I am unfamiliar with all the names… that’s my eldest kid’s department, but there is one I know called a Roberto Capucci that has a glorious scent.
      Don’t know the name of the pink one featured here, but it has a vague fragrance but nothing striking.
      Fortunately, we have loads of other plants to fill any gaps on the Smell -0-meter!

      Like

    2. Steve: There’s a rose in the Invercargill city rose gardens that is literally to die for. true, the modern rose seems a bit lacking but this one is a rich semi-purpley red(ish). Lovely blooms, but the scent~!

      I think I may have snapped it today in the park, and I promised Bess (Phi) I’d post some roses for her, so I’ll do that later. But the name matches the scents, it is called … Erotica.

      And to all: I was advised by an American lady some years ago, when admiring the gorgeous scents of her blooms (New Zealand flowers mostly lack any scent worth mentioning) that when she planted them she dropped a large piece of raw liver in the hole first …

      Like

  2. Decided to bury my answer re what questions I asked on Quora down here on your blog. Reason – I like being “Notes” on WordPress. The moment I share specific Quora question details, I become Valerie Hulley (Quora rules require using your given name ) That said, “What is the most psychologically damaging thing you can say to a child?” has 2,022,848 views. “As an adult, what is the most shocking contradiction to history you learned as a child?” – 1,869,692 views. These are the questions Quora listed in their Top Writer message –

    Why are pyramids found in so many ancient civilizations?

    How do Americans feel about Trump saying he won’t commit to accepting election results?

    How would an American explain to the rest of the world why their constitutional right to bear arms makes America a better place?

    Why is adultery still illegal in 21 states?

    Why did China capture a unmanned American research drone in the South China Sea?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

